Crossgate Community Partnership

Lumiere at Redhills

The Common Good,Lumiere at Redhills, November 2017

Crossgate Community Partnership is a forum for the people of the Crossgate area of Durham to work together to conserve and improve its environment and amenities, and to promote a strong, safe, healthy, and balanced community.

We meet monthly, in the North Road Methodist Church, alternating between the first Monday and first Tuesday in the month; please note that there will be no meeting in June; our next meeting will be on Tuesday 3 July at 7.45 pm. Anybody and everybody who lives in the area is welcome to attend our meetings. The minutes of our May meeting are now available for you to read online; if you can also print off a copy and bring them to the meeting with you, this will reduce the load on others.

Our AGM in February 2018 appointed the following trustees for the coming year: Liz Brown, Roger Cornwell, Alan Doig, Ann Evans, Simon Priestley and Simon Squires.

Our schedule of meetings for 2018 is: Monday 5 February; Tuesday 6 March; Monday 9 April (2nd April is Easter Monday); Tuesday 1 May; Monday 4 June; Tuesday 3 July; Monday 6 August; Tuesday 4 September; Monday 1 October; Tuesday 6 November; Monday 3 December. These fates have now been confirmed. All meetings 7.45 - 9.15 pm, at the North Road Methodist Church.

City of Durham Parish Council

The new Parish Council for the City of Durham held its first meeting on Thursday 10th May 2018 in the Shakespeare Hall, North Road.

Future meetings are scheduled for Thursday 21st June, Thursday 26th July, Thursday 23rd August, Thursday 27th September, Thursday 25th October, Thursday 22nd November and Thursday 20th December 2018; and for Thursday 24th January, Thursday 28th February and Thursday 28th March 2019. The time and place of meetings is subject to confirmation, and Extraordinary meetings may also be called.

Members of the public are entitled to attend meetings of the Council.

City of Durham Parish Council website

Living out in Crossgate? Download the Council's Student Life App for information on rubbish and recycling (including bin collection dates for your street), accommodation, events in Durham, personal safety, health, wellbeing and lots more!

PACT logo

We no longer start our meetings with a PACT (Police and Communities Together) session; there are regular PACT meetings covering the whole of the Durham City area. The next Durham City PACT meeting is at 6.00 pm on Wednesday 27th June, in Elvet Riverside 1, New Elvet (opposite the Police Station), and the next meeting for Neville's Cross, Crossgate and Whitesmocks is 6.00 pm on Thursday 28th June in the Ustinov College Community Room, Sheraton House, Sheraton Park, DH1 4FB. There is a full list of PACT meetings on the Police website.

PCSO Rebecca Carey, University Liaison Officer, has confirmed that any complaints of antisocial behavious by students should be referred to the police, and that excessive noise after 23.00 is unacceptable and should be logged (dial 101, and take note of incident number). The University no longer takes responsibility for the behaviour of students living outside colleges. Or e-mail Rebecca: ( ). Calling the police enables them to log incidents, so that there is a public record.

There is a new police information system at www.keepintheknow.co.uk where you can sign up to receive e-mails with information about crime trends, fraud etc.

For non-emergency matters, the police contact number is now 101.

To contact the Streets Warden (previously the Neighbourhood Warden) for routine issues, phone the call centre on 0300 026 1000 (and choose option 3 from the menu); for urgent problems, email . In order to establish the value of a dedicated neighbourhood warden, we need to be able to measure the warden's effectiveness. Part of that is ensuring that all requests are routed through the council recording system. Please therefore use the phone number above if possible - it will also be useful if we can record details of issues and their resolution.

Crossgate Community Partnership is a charity whose objects are:


Minutes of past meetings     Additional documents